Coach Lynn goes Woo Hoo

This morning when I snuck out of the house at 6:30am for my morning jog I had this wonderful awareness it was no longer pitch black outside – the light was definitely peeking through those clouds!  And as I emerged from my favourite canyon trail that leads down to the beach, I was treated to such a special photographic moment:  Just west of me the moon was still huge and hanging in the sky while at the same time to the east the sun was rising up over the horizon.  It was windy, and there were “sheep” out there on the water (a windsurfer’s delight!), and I had to stop just to breathe and take it all in.  I felt so thankful in that moment to be able to start the day in this way, to have my health and to feel the beauty in our world because of it.

I think that activity of any kind in one’s life is a good thing, but it’s only those that take us outside in a quiet way that allow us to experience the powerful energy from the earth that somehow engulfs us from the ground right through the body to one’s inner self.

(Oh dear I think I’m going “woo-hoo”!)

I have my biggest emotional lifts and personal inspirations whenever I run, and if that’s not your experience just yet, then trust me… I know it will happen with you too.  Just as the days are growing longer, if you’re easy on yourself and progressing carefully in your program, you will be able to run or walk longer, gaining strength and confidence in yourselves with every week that passes by.  With that will come an ease with your running and walking – a “high” that takes form in different ways, whether it’s afterwards when you breath a sigh of relief the work is done, or whether it’s during your runwalk that you experience the nature around you and revel in your fitness.

About Lynn Kanuka

Olympian, Coach, StreetStrider, Corporate Challenge Coach, Event Organizer, Deep Water Runner, Motivational Speaker, Nordic Walking Coach.... My days as a serious athlete are long past, but I'll always be a runner. I love its simplicity. I'd love to help you discover how easy running can be: Walk — Jog — Run or Stride. I know you can do it.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.