Inspiration from Sochi

Are you not EXHAUSTED from trying to catch all the Olympic Events as our Canadian athletes do us proud in Sochi?  (As I type I’m waiting for the highlights!)  I’ve been hooked ever since I decided to stay up and watch our snowboarding phenom from my hometown Regina –  Mark McMorris – OMG My daughter is in LOVE with him – and every athlete young and not-so-young needs to see “Making His Mark” –  He is SO humble and grounded… and had SUCH an incredible performance with a broken rib!  HOW do those guys make what they do look so easy – soaring through the air as they do?   Our Canadians have really shown up to play this time in Sochi…from Moguls to the Skate Track with so much still to come… I can’t put a finger on it exactly but there is an energy of world-class performance and effort that seems to be inspiring them ALL to greater heights… GO CANADA!  It’s the journey that means everything…

 *Here’s an excerpt from an article I wrote for the Vancouver Sun Newspaper this week…

”An Athlete cannot run with money in his pockets. He must run with hope in his heart and dreams in head”                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Emil Zatopek  Legendary Czech Runner Olympic Gold 5K,10K and Marathon in 1952

In the midst of fantastic competition at the 2014 Sochi Olympic Games I can’t help but reflect on the mixture of excitement and trepidation that exists for our young Canadian athletes in their dream competition.  If I close my eyes I can instantly take myself back 30 years to the 1984 Olympic Games myself:  I remember what it was like to be so ready to face the world, knowing I was in the best shape of my life, trying to tuck any insecure feelings away so that I would find my best possible performance on that one important day.  My own daughter posed quite a philosophical question for me after breaking a record at the recent Harry Jerome Indoor track meet, and watching our athletes win Gold in Olympic Competition:  She had felt on top of the world after her performance, and she asked me if I would trade my Olympic experience for all the money in the world… (Wow what a question!)  “All the money in the world or… no Olympic competition?  My answer of course is that what I could never trade would be the journey of choosing to be the best I could be at something I found myself truly passionate about.  It’s the message I try to preach week in and week out to those of you I have the privilege of coaching:  “Sport is life”, and you as an athlete have set your own performance goals while taking steps toward better health.  With every session you complete you will feel fantastic as you inch closer to your goal and I guarantee the demands in your life will be accomplished more easily thereafter.  My own Olympic journey was no different, and the lessons learned translate to life every single day. So lace up those shoes, record your successes in a logbook, entice a friend to join you and stay committed – it’ll be worth it!  You’ll have a greater appreciation of what our athletes will accomplish in Sochi (and maybe I’ll tuck my Olympic Bronze Medal in my pocket when I buy my lottery ticket next week!)

GO CANADA – PUT THOSE RED MITTENS ON EVERYONE AND RAISE THOSE FLAGS!

About Lynn Kanuka

Olympian, Coach, StreetStrider, Corporate Challenge Coach, Event Organizer, Deep Water Runner, Motivational Speaker, Nordic Walking Coach.... My days as a serious athlete are long past, but I'll always be a runner. I love its simplicity. I'd love to help you discover how easy running can be: Walk — Jog — Run or Stride. I know you can do it.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.