Too Many Happy Hours-Time to Get Active!

OK – Summer was great wasn’t it? But I’m not likin’ my “vino pouch”…

Yep – I love my chips ‘n libations too and those Happy Hour calories were evident when I put my jeans on for the first time the other day… they felt too tight for my liking.  I’m not going out to buy a new pair either! Now that the kids are back in school it’s time to incorporate some personal fitness into my own already-busy fall routine.  I had the opportunity to talk to the importance of being active and making healthy life choices to a YPO chapter in Little Rock Arkansas last week and I found MYSELF inspired!   We completed a mini-triathlon together, as well as talked about Team Building by preparing for a local 5K event, and I found myself deciding I too need to pencil my workouts in my day planner the same way I do other important commitments.  It doesn’t take much… I know I feel great with a 30 minute walk with the dog every day, but even better if I include 4 days of what I would consider a 45 minute workout:  1 swim, 1 cycle or spin class, and 2 runs – one shorter and one longer, one of which will include a few intervals to get my heart rate up.

Keep it simple and progress slowly. Everyone has their time of day that works best; I know for me if I don’t get up early enough to have my quiet cuppa java and head out the door before the day begins that it just won’t get done.   So get on board along with me!  As we get older, our metabolism naturally slows while our muscles and bones seriously atrophy if we don’t use ‘em.  We put on weight, we feel sluggish, and it gets harder to get back to the fitness level you once were in if you let too much time go by.  Make the commitment to yourself to grab hold of your health – Reduce those unhealthy refreshments and portion sizes and Get Active – I’d be glad to help you anytime with coaching or motivation to make a start.

Smiles – You can do it!  Coach Lynn

About Lynn Kanuka

Olympian, Coach, StreetStrider, Corporate Challenge Coach, Event Organizer, Deep Water Runner, Motivational Speaker, Nordic Walking Coach.... My days as a serious athlete are long past, but I'll always be a runner. I love its simplicity. I'd love to help you discover how easy running can be: Walk — Jog — Run or Stride. I know you can do it.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.