Change is possible-with SportMed RunWalk programs

SportMedBC’s Sun Run InTraining Program is 21 years old this year… and I’m proud to say I’ve been involved since the beginning.  It’s no surprise my own Olympic Coach and pioneer in the world of Sport Medicine –  Dr. Doug Clement –  was the visionary. Coach Doug created the first SportMedBC progressive RunWalk programs to help people off couches and actually develop a healthier lifestyle as they prepared for the largest  10K footrace in Canada: The Vancouver Sun Run.  I was a performance athlete on that inaugural starting line of the Sun Run 30+ years ago, became one of the first Clinic Coordinator Coaches for those first Sun Run InTraining Clinics, and now am proud to say I’ve been SportMed’s resident Olympic Medalist and RunWalk Coach for the last 10 years. I would challenge you to find a program anywhere on the planet that mobilizes this many people at the same time in the pursuit of health and wellness.  There are now 50+ clinics around the Lower Mainland where participants are supported by some 600 trained leaders, there are online training options, a book series, and an Aboriginal RunWalk Program extension I’m super proud of.  Literally thousands of people follow these evolving programs every year.  There are countless incredible stories of success in participants and the differences that this program has made in their lives.   One such story is featured in the Vancouver Sun Newspaper today – a longtime supporter of the Sun Run and InTraining Program:  A diligant committed participant and longtime leader who experienced amazing change in his own life – someone I’ve come to know as a friend – Read about Barrie’s inspiring story here:

http://www.vancouversun.com/touch/story.html?id=11484889

Smiles, Coach Lynn

About Lynn Kanuka

Olympian, Coach, StreetStrider, Corporate Challenge Coach, Event Organizer, Deep Water Runner, Motivational Speaker, Nordic Walking Coach.... My days as a serious athlete are long past, but I'll always be a runner. I love its simplicity. I'd love to help you discover how easy running can be: Walk — Jog — Run or Stride. I know you can do it.
This entry was posted in change, clinics, Cross Training, group training, health, online training, programs, progressive, progressive programs, sport, training, wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.